The Association of Registered Nurses of BC


Trauma Informed Care: Part 1
October 20 2017 Click for more info


Using the Power of Story to Improve Patient-Centred Care.
Click for more info

Meet BC's Nurses

Judy Lee

View profile

Specialty Nursing: Becoming Speciality Certified

Canadian Nurses Association

The Canadian Nurses Association offers a well-established speciality nursing certification program. As part of ARNBC you are automatically a member of CNA, and qualify for savings on certification.

In order to be eligible to enroll in a program, you must have at least two years of nursing experience in the speciality area you wish to pursue a certification in. There are 20 nursing specialities in which you can achieve certification in. These include:
  • Cardiovascular Nursing
  • Community Health Nursing
  • Critical Care Nursing
  • Critical Care Pediatric Nursing
  • Emergency Nursing
  • Enterostomal Therapy Nursing
  • Gastroenterology Nursing
  • Gerontological Nursing
  • Hospice Palliative Care Nursing
  • Medical-Surgical Nursing
  • Nephrology Nursing
  • Neuroscience Nursing
  • Occupational Health Nursing
  • Oncology Nursing
  • Orthopaedic Nursing
  • PeriAnesthesia Nursing
  • Perinatal Nursing
  • Perioperative Nursing
  • Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing
  • Rehabilitation Nursing

Please click here for more information.

BC Institute of Technology (BCIT)

Within B.C, BCIT offers a robust specialty nursing program, designed to equip graduates with the knowledge and skills needed to work in specialty areas. The following speciality nursing courses include:
  • Critical Care Nursing
  • Emergency Nursing
  • High Acuity Nursing
  • Neonatal Nursing
  • Nephrology Nursing
  • Occupational Health Nursing
  • Pediatric Nursing
  • Perinatal Nursing
  • Perioperative Nursing

Please click here for more information.